Catalog Update

Standard
Apple-iPhone-6-side

iPhone6

 

SEE LATEST UPDATES AT BOTTOM OF POST!

 

I tested the catalog on my Android Samsung Galaxy s5 and it works fine, but without the “flip” feature of the desktop interface that I’ve already shown you.  Basically it looks like a simplified version of QuickPic, if you are familiar with that fantastic free Android app.

 

If you have a so-called “Android” phone (meaning non Apple) you can get the app that makes the Needlepoint Land catalog run on your smartphone by downloading  it from Google Play here.

 

It’s free, though they will ask for access to the usual questions about accessing certain folders on your phone that have increasingly become the new norm with smartphone apps.  As a needlepoint owner that does not bother me — and, besides, I only keep pics of canvases, the store, or the nature pics on my smartphone phone.  It may, however, bother you from a privacy perspective.  Then again, maybe not — such is the world these days of hyper-connectivity.

 

With the pricey iPhone6 about to come out, I’ve asked ISSUU technical support if they plan to develop a similar app for the Apple platform.  Probably not, but will let you know what they say.

 

taken by Erin at Destination Dallas

taken by Erin at Destination Dallas

Finally, I’ve had the tech team post a thread in a serious digital photography forum to try to get a handle on how to take fantastic needlepoint canvases.

It’s time to try to solve once and for all this technical problem, as I cannot constantly try to take all these pictures under direct sunlight, which is often not possible or convenient, particularly during the summer, when it is very hot, overcast, muggy and rainy for 5 months or so in Florida.

Unless I come up with a  real technical solution for this problem, individual canvases will rarely (depending on mesh and lighting) looks as they do in person, and this is a shame.

It’s not good enough to resort to various “tricks” — such as taking pics in my back yard in the morning when’s sunny, or taking pics on the store carpet and hoping for the best, or taking pics of canvas against a background where the camera does not get confused and can pick up (since it has other things to compare to) the actual colors of the canvas and its design and not turn everything into this sooty grey that I now loathe with a passion.

That aside, you do not have to worry that this catalog stuff will stop you from being able to look at Needlepoint Land’s merchandise.  I will always have my canvases available to look at on my web sites (both this one, and the newer store/catalog-ey one), so you will not have to have a smartphone to view my fall and spring catalogs, as well as of course the half dozes trunk show catalogs I will come out with every year.

But I do have to find a solution to be able to efficiently release  a flip catalog that works on all mobile platforms.  After all, if you have been reading the Internet Retailer ezine (which frequently appears in Erin’s Twitterverse on this blog’s sidebar), mobile retailing is the wave of the future!

LATEST UPDATES:   HOT HOT HOT! formatting and sootie look solved thru the magic of GIMP!

1. RE the camera business, it turns out the main problem is the noise produced by my inferior older camera, as well as the Samsung Galaxy.  To remedy this, I can buy a point and shoot digital camera with a large  CMOS sensor that’ll give good results,  These area available from Canon, Nikon, Samsung or Sony for less than $200.

2. RE the Flipper not working on iPhones, here is the response from ISSUU from tech support.  This positive news means I can go ahead and use ISSUU to produce needlepoint catalogs that will be viewable on most mobile platforms — Android and Apple.

Hi Erin,

We will very soon release the iOS app, and then we would ofcourse also offer support for the app. You can follow the updates here: http://issuu.com/app

Best Regards,
Neha

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

