Flipping out!

Standard

I’ve been looking for a way to show my canvases through a flippable catalog for quite a while.

Here is something that I think does the job.

And they said that you couldn’t do Flash on WP!

I like it so much I am thinking of putting my whole Dallas catalog on it, and also all my upcoming trunk shows.

The question is, though, what do you think of it?

Hate it, or flipping out with delirious excitement?

Let me know, as the tech crew are getting ready to do some funky things with this on the store catalog site, once they get back from loolligaging on the beach with their SUP boards!  Think:  custom catalog widgets!

ps Laurel Burch’s name is spelled wrong in this test catalog.  It shall of course be fixed later.

pps Issuu has a downloadable Android app, which I, er,  the beach crew will be testing soon — especially since this WP embed hack doesn’t work when viewed on an Android smartphone.  Apparently there’s some useful Issuu earch feature that was supposed to have been added.

In case the embedded flip cat hack (i.e., in normal human being language, what you see above) doesn’t work for you on a smartphone, try this link.  (UPDATE:  the link doesnt work on a Galaxy S5, for some reason.  I’ll provide the workaround soon.)

ppps If you have any trouble zooming in and out of the flip catalog, there is a kind of horizontal knob thingie on the top left that you can adjust to any size you want.  Also, you can immediately get rid of the Issuu clip come-on banner at the beginning by clicking on the red + sign.

 

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

8 responses »

  1. Thank you for the feedback, Linda. My guess is your tablet uses an android browser. You might want to download the ISSUU app for Android devices (this is a free app, available for free on the Google app store, or just go to issuu.com to download), and try it that way. It is what I did for my Samsung s5. Please let me know if that works for you.

  2. Great!! Good to hear that. We are developping a real Dallas catalog as we speak, and I look forward to hearing from you how that comes out on the iPad.

  3. Using my iPad, I was not able to view the pictures in the above blank space. However, I was able to
    click below and view all pictures on Issuu Dd catalog test 2 . Flipping the pictures worked very well and liked the program.

Leave a Reply

