Dallas Goodies – Part 1

Standard
Dallas Goodies – Part 1

I have a bunch of new pics to show you.  What I will do is break these up into batches of ten or twelve, and post them piecemeal over the next few days — rather than just have one huge, overwhelming mega gallery that does not do justice to each individual handpainted needlepoint canvas.

Here goes.

 

 

 

Yes that’s me up in the corner, btw, opening up my red suitcase to unpack all the goodies I brought back from Destination Dallas.  I can’t believe how beat up the valise was. It  was brand new going, now it looks like it needs a bath or something.  But that’s another story. So as you can see,I have the book Stitches a la Carte that sold out at the show and Lynda was nice enough to autograph six of them for me. Next to Lynda’s book is a very unusual cat that I found very appealing.

I had also pre-ordered the newest Madge, who was introduced at the show–she really cracks me up! I was really intriqued with the woman with the Picasso-esque face (top middle pic) and purchased her, but was really tempted by some 5 ft. tall ladies done in a similar style.  The photo on the right is by Dream House Ventures and is a really gorgeous canvas, the colors are great. Lynda gave me some tips on how to stitch this piece, which I will be happy to pass along to my customers.

The Melissa Shirley owl was taught by Cynthia Thomas and I learned a lot of new techniques. I hope to share some of these with my customers this season. The stitch kit is full of lots of new threads and makes use of the new Colonial Needle  that was created especially for bullion knots. The center is a prize I won at the banquet, along with a great dog planner book and some spooky spiders for Needlepoint Land’s Halloween canvas displays. The pic on the right is a very vibrantly colored and beautiful Laurel Burch canvas adapted for 13m.

On the bottom row is a lovely beach scene with five sanderlings that is also on 13m. The middle picture 0n the bottom row is a beautifully painted 13m geometric.

The porcupine quills, (yes real porcupine quills that are very sharp) and used as laying tools were a big hit at the show and I was lucky enough to get the last Buddha (pic on bottom right)  They are absolutely gorgeous and work well with virtually every thread.

I also got lots of accessories, bead holders, magnetic thread holders, some of the new funky threads and quite a few smaller canvases. Some of the newer designs had sold out, but I have lots of new canvases from the Dallas show on order.

That’s it for now. There are tons of other canvases that I just did not have the time to photograph today.

So, stay tuned, much more to come!

 

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. Of course, Kathy. You may be interested to know that there is a cinnabar buddha that did not arrive in time for the show, as well as the one I purchased.

  2. Looks great!!! Sounds like you had fun!!! Oh Madge!!! You make me smile!!!

    Mary Ellen

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Erin, if the Buddha head laying tool does not belong to anyone, would love to purchase it. Thanks, Kathleen Carden

Leave a Reply

