Report Card

Standard

Well, it’s one week since Needlepoint Land opened.  Here a quick and dirty summary of where things stand.

The Good

  • All stocked with an excellent variety of threads and canvases
  • Added new display areas
  • Chalk painting of sleigh bench coming along nicely
  • Store about 97% complete

The Bad

  • Still no shelving in the back of the store to display models (hopefully, this will happen on Wednesday).
  • No table yet to display trunk show canvases.
  • Need some sort of cube system to display small canvases and accessories by front left window
  • Need to order more slatwall hooks for front counter merchandise
  • Need to finish pricing for some designer lines

The Ugly

  • The back office is a disaster. I need a table and some shelving in the little alcove adjacent to the office.
  • Need another filing cabinet and to get my office chair completed.
  • Need to get a room divider to hide the unsightly air conditioning unit.
  • Need to consolidate the canvases in the office area and throw out one of the cheap clothes racks back there.
  • Most bins that held canvases are empty– consolidate all canvases into one covered bin.
  • Online catalog far from complete!

Summary

Clearly there’s plenty left to do.  Still, I like the progress I’ve made in a relatively short time, and kind of like my prospects for when the season starts.

Store schedule this week (week of 7/28):

Closed  Monday, Wednesday and Thursday. Open Tuesday, Friday and Saturday.

FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE SUMMER:

Summer hours:

Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday

11am till 2pm

Will be closed for part of September.

Of course the blog is going to continue going strong! But I am not going to be posting quite as frequently from now on, since the saga of getting the store ready is pretty much over.

Now I can get back to my Monday tennis game with David (the tennis pro) at Jonathan’s Landing. It has been 2+ months since I have hit a tennis ball. Both the French Open and Wimbledon have come and gone, and I am looking forward to resuming my regularly scheduled tennis program.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

