Tropical Sleigh

Standard

Tropical Sleigh

 

Still working on repainting with chalk paint my tropical sleigh that’s destined for the Hubster’s Shady Spot in Needlepoint Land.

I’m nearly done with that, and have started to think about cushions and a backrest to replace the sorry-looking, horse-hair stuffed original you see in the pic above.

I’m thinking the upholstery fabric has to have bright red in the pattern, to match the motif of the Needlepoint Land store logo.

parrrot fabricThis kitschy one (hey, it’s Fla!) caught my eye, but I’m not sure if the fabric is heavy enough. It’s not in their upholstery section, so I doubt it.

The description says it’s suitable for pillows, so more likely than not it’s unsuitable for sitting on.  Also it’s probably printed, not woven, and then of course there is that the crucial issue of the double rub count.

There’s actually such a thing!

I will just have to call the store to find out if it has a thread count per square inch that’s anywhere near 400.

Maybe not, though.

There are some other genuine upholstery fabrics that I am also interested in, so will ponder this matter and let you know what I decide on.

I can’t wait to finish refurbishing my Tropical Sleigh and hauling it to the store!

🙂

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Thanks Pat–I love it also, but the repeat (really need to see what it actually is) may be too large for the cushion for this small bench. I will keep searching for something. However, that fabric did contain most of the colors I want.

  2. Love the material. It does need to match the bird of your store logo. Good luck with that and your new store.

Leave a Reply

