Alison’s Bag

Standard

needlepoint bag

My friend Alison came in the store yesterday, bringing her beautiful needlepoint bag along.

Isn’t it gorgeous?

She suggested that my store needed a little spot where hubbies or anyone else for that matter can sit down and relax while their wives or friends or whatever are looking around the store.

I think it’s a charming idea.

So I’m turning this little area into exactly that, and calling it the Hubster’s Shady Spot. It’s by the front of the store, to the left when you come in.

hubbys shady spot

I’m going to replace the rather austere chair you see in the pic with a nice sleigh bench that I’m repainting as we speak. The sleigh belonged to my grandparents who found it on their property in Greenwich. It is a real farm bench that sat atop a horse-drawn wagon. So this is its second restoration. My grandmother slathered it with some black oil-based paint and it’s really surprising that the chalk paint completely covered it. You cannot see it in this pic, but the backrest cushion has horsehair stuffing.

Sleigh Bench

I’m using that Annie Sloan chalk paint I bought in Vero last week.  The effect I’m going for is a color palette based on the Needlepoint Land mascot parrot. I am looking for a nice red upholstery fabric, that picks up and complements some of these colors, maybe with a Provençal motif.

Meanwhile the Jade plant is settling in nicely by the right front window at Needlepoint Land and is already pointing its little leaves east toward the sun.

Jade East

 

Fung shooey!

 

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Thanks–it’s getting there! I love Alison’s bag, the flip flops are all metallics and the background is mosaic. Very smart-looking bag

Leave a Reply

