Bedouin Carpet

Standard

Guest Post from Lynda Richardson

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ed Note: I’ve always admired the canvases by Dreamhouse Ventures.  Recently, I came across Bedouin Carpet, and I just had to get it for my store. This design is closely related to Carpet Panel, which is also quite beautiful. I thought you might enjoy reading here a brief guest post from Lynda, the designer of these beautiful pieces.

*  *  *

My relationship with needlepoint has taken up the majority of my life. I have always been drawn to tribal designs. In fact, the first needlepoint I ever stitched was a Persian carpet design, and the first canvas I ever designed was a Native American piece.

Throughout the 40-some-odd-years that I’ve been doing this, I have constantly been drawn to tribal motifs, geometrics, and the symmetry of the Arts and Crafts movement. With respect to Bedouin Carpet, the part that took me the longest was choosing the right colors.  (I had it done in half a dozen colorways before I settled on this one.)

As for Carpet Panel, I actually found it in my stash of designs — but the colors were way off. However I found that using a similar color palette to the one I used in Bedouin Carpet made the piece sing.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. That would be so great, thanks Jan! I love your designs and the informative commentary on your blog.

  2. Thanks Jan for your informative comment. Would you be interested in doing a little guest post for some of your designs? I would really love that!

  3. Both are VERY nicely designed. The colors of the rectangular Berber panel are typical of Moroccan Berber rugs. The rug in the newer colors would be typical of areas farther East, maybe Egypt. They all share similar motifs that I’ve used in my own rugs. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

