Wanted: 1st impressions of 2nd blog

Standard

applause

Hi gang.

It’s great to be back at Needlepointland.com.  Early last week, I changed my password to keep everything safe and secure, and forgot to write it down. No snickering, please.

It’s taken me a week to get everything squared away with WP, as the normal password recovery process was not working for me, for some reason.

Anyway, all is squared now, and I am very very near opening the store.  But there are a few things left to do  of course — including putting up the store sign, which is going up in two hours… and there is a typical Florida summer afternoon thunderstorm brewing.

There has been a lot of progress on getting things ready in the store, and I will be sure to take pictures and show everyone once I catch my breath. One thing I can say, though, if you are thinking of opening up a needlepoint shop:  multiply by 3 the amount of time you think it will take to get ready.

While I was locked out of my own blog, I panicked, er, decided to set up a second one, which I think of as a catablog, or catalog blog. And I had some ideas I wanted to try out about how to make navigating a needlepoint site almost entirely visual (with a little help now and then from words, abbreviations, and numbers.)

I also thought it would be nice to make the images nice a big, and give shoppers the ability to get a price, dimensions, mesh count, etc, simply by hovering with their mouse or finger over a canvas.  You can see this sort of thing with the Laughing Buddha in the Grab Bag collection. The idea is you look at the canvas and see if you like it, without being distracted by price.

So I spend the weekend putting a demo together, and now it is live.

If you have a few minutes, would you check it out?

I would be very pleased/interested/grateful in any opinions you may have of the new site… good or bad… I won’t take it personally — promise!

Any feedback would be immensely helpful to me in putting together a better site for your enjoyment, and mine of course!

You can find this experimental new site here.

Look forward to hearing your comments!

ps I just tried it on IE9 for the first time a minute ago, and that browser seem unable to correctly support the level of the scripting language(s) the theme is written in (the WP theme I am using is Pictorico, a brand new theme that is still a little buggy). So that is a big issue of course, since a lot of people still use IE.

 

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

11 responses »

  1. Yes… Android experience improved! No time yet to drool via PC… and no rush on the info on the Partidge/Pears canvas. I am amply supplied with projects to keep me busy! Thanks, Barb

  2. thx! I just changed the layout of the belt section. I think the slideshow seems to work nicely there. The skinny belts images looked kind of silly before, handing out on their lonesome in space.

  3. hi Barb yes android supporet was bit clunky but i made some changes at the end of the day that might have improved the droid experience. let me know, if you dont mind, if your smartphone experience of the site is now markedly better.

    btw i put up prices and measurements etc for the grab bag collection and would love to talk to you about the item you are interested in but i have take care of some things at the store right now (the sign painting was delayed etc etc etc) but will get back to you soonest.

    E.

  4. hi anne. hmmmm… was that using a smartphone or a regular browser on a PC? it seems to work on everything but IE, including Android phones — though I dont have an iPhone to test it on that. There should be 4 posts that come up when you click on canvas. Thx for the feedback!

  5. Had fun looking at the catablog. Was viewing it from an android tablet and it seemed a little rough around the edges. Will try it via IE and/or Chrome when I have an opportunity.

    I’ve been avidly following your trials and experiences (and rants!) as you’ve worked your way thru to this final leg of your B&M dream. Congrats on steamrolling your way thru to this last leg. (Was going to say that I’d ejoyed reading about your experiences, but didn’t want to come across as a sadist)

    I spotted a canvas in the catablog that caught my eye. I think it’s an ornament-size stocking… Partidge and pears a la 1st day of Xmas. Would you be so kind as to provide some additional info for me? Dimensions, designer, price? We’re on opposite side of the continent, but are you set up for online sales now?

    Thanks, and continued success to you!

    Barb Tracey

  6. I actually looked up at one point and saw you driving by!!!! I figured you were going to the fresh vegetable and fruit market. I am closer to Mr. Bread where you entered the plaza and right next to the Dixie cafe. I was going to email you and say, “Hey, Mary Ellen,you drove right by my store!!!!!” So stop on in. If you look in the about section in needlepointlandstore.wordpress.com., you will find a link to a Google map that shows exactly where the store is located–the highlighted phrase is “I found a great location.”

  7. Can’t wait to see the shop! I thought I knew where it was, but I couldn’t find it last week! Mary Ellen

    Sent from my iPhone

    Mary Ellen Purdy 7161 SE Quincy Terrace Hobe Sound, FL 33455 914 924 1397

    >

  8. It works great on Safari – Mac! Saw a couple canvas I really like but can’t buy anything right now. Wishing you great success, Erin!

    Jan

  9. The “catablog” looks great. You amaze me!!!! Looking forward to strolling through the pages. Not to mention a stroll throughout the shop.

Leave a Reply

