Office Demon

Standard

 

Sunday afternoon at Needlepoint Land

Spent the day watching the technical help have a meltdown after trying to assemble a desk from Office Depot.

If you have ever considered doing this, my advice is this: don’t even think about it.

Not only was the quality of the “workmanship” shoddy — one cabinet simply would not square up and the thing was held together with bubble gum —  this purportedly wooden desk turned out to be made entirely made out of cardboard and a thin pseudo wood veneer.

What a bust.

Junk Desk

Office Depot Garbage Desk

After spending 6 hours trying to put it together, the technical help and I tried to move the desk a few inches to line it up against a wall and it literally fell apart.

I guess $149 dollars plus tax doesn’t buy what it used to these days. And this piece of junk was manufactured in Ohio, so it’s not just the Chinese that make shoddy goods these days.

What an utter and complete waste of time and money. I don’t think I am even going to bother trying to get my money back.

New rule.

No more self-assembly furniture in my store ever again.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

