Waste not, want not

Standard

Just a quick note, as I’m expecting a customer who made an appointment to come by for some threads.

First off, George the carpentry wiz came by and fixed the counter situation.  The problem, it turned out to be, is that the store floor isn’t quite level.  You don’t notice it, until you try to align furniture exactly.

He also drilled some holes in the pegboard furring strips (I can’t believe I’m starting to get conversant with this arcane terminology!) he installed a few weeks ago.  This way I don’t have these empty columns of holes between my threads due to not being able to put in hooks where the furring blocks their prongs in the back.

I thought he would have to remove the pegboards to do this, but my technical staff-cum-pegboard painters suggested just drilling through the holes into the furring.  Brilliant!

Big advance in the store design department.

I’ve come to realize that this mirror on the back right wall of the store is costing me too much display space.  You can see it in one of the pics, along with the two repurposed, industrial-strength pegboards that the L-shaped counter was attached to on its delivery palette.

So I am going to have George put some furring on each side of this mirror, and attach a new Homasote panel to the mirror using some special glue and screws.

[ UPDATE: CANCEL THIS IDEA. AFTER SCOPING IT OUT WITH ACTUAL PANELS, IT BECAME APPARENT IT WOULD LOOK AWFUL.]

When it comes to canvas display space in a needlepoint store, waste not, want not is what I say.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Great minds think alike! i talked with George the handyman today about him making some kind of thin but upscale looking custom wooden top for the counter. This would be down the road after I make my gazillions. The L shaped counter turned out to be some synthetic laminate. I was naively hoping it would look more like a real butcher block hard maple counter top when I bought it. Never again will I buy something like this sight unseen. I’ve complained enough in the blog about the lack of quality of many modern, mass-produced Chinese products. Amazon has these silicone cutting mats you mentioned made by an outfit called MIU France. Being a little wiser now, I looked up MIU France, and sure enough, it turns out that its products are actually, yes, made in China. I let my mouse run for the hills! Nevertheless. thank you for the thoughtful idea!

  2. You should get some of those silicone cutting mats to place on top of counter…would save top, cover the joints and if you need to cut fabric would have measuring tool too. If you got a big one you could have your handy man cut to fit.

Leave a Reply

