If it’s Tuesday

Standard

… it must be Needlepoint Land!

Good news today.  After spending much of the day yesterday putting up threads, I was able to regroup from the devastating counter episode from last week, the very same one that cause me to disgorge a Not Made in the USA rant.

Today, I finally found a terrific carpenter who is going to start this week helping me rectify the counter situation, put in the custom shelving I need, and do a few other critical things  — such as building a small platform for my two thread towers, and put up the lattice panel in the big window overlooking the restaurant outdoor seating area next door.

Today I also took delivery of my back office desk, chair, and file cabinet ensemble.  I got it cheap at Office Depot, and will have a local handyman put it together.

Last week also saw the unexpected demise of my then current eCommerce plans, as well as a nasty and totally unnecessary contretemps involving Chase and Paymentech and my Fla LLC setup.

I won’t bore you with the details, but two quick calls up to Tallahassee and the IRS resolved the issues.

Needless to say, I will not be banking with Chase merchant services; in fact I terminated all my existing banking relationships with them and told them to never contact me again.

Sometimes, this is what you must do as a store owner:  you just have to put your foot down and be a total bitch when big companies try to push you around.

So it’s goodbye Chase, and hello Bank of America.  However, I will only be using them to set up regular merchant checking and savings accounts and getting a Needlepoint Land credit card.

(Update:  as expected, B of A asked me to personally guarantee payment on this card, thus potentially opening the door for a piercing the corporate veil legal maneuver. Still the card and accounts will clearly allow me to avoid personal and business fund commingling, so I will have that in my favor.)

For my store’s  credit card processing needs, I have decided to go with CDG Commerce.  I was totally blown away by this review, and like everything about them so far.  CDG’s flexibility, handholding (re testing online shopping carts) and lack of avaricious contract terms are tremendously appealing to a small shop like mine. I’m reasonably confident that by sometime next week I will finally have a credit card terminal installed in the store.

More good news.

My acerooni tech team is unusually pumped mildly optimistic about trying out a new e-commerce solution.  It involves the use an CDG-approved shopping cart and the blogging platform that I am already familiar with.

I may soon have more control over a WP theme’s interface. Maybe (for those of you who blog using WordPress, or WP, you know all about the sever restrictions that WordPress imposes on bloggers: no advanced HTML, no Javascript, no control of replacing a menu bar options with icons, etc).

If this new potential online solution does more than just allow font and color control, then a page design universe opens up that is not available when using the online Mafia approach, to borrow a memorable turn of phrase that Jane from CH used recently.

(Update: I just read an explanation of checkout page slurping, the sound of which I do not like one bit. It really does seem that genuine PCI compliance can turn into one big, costly headache, unless slurping is used. More on this later.)

Suddenly, the birds are singing, again, and the sun is breaking through the clouds.

I just have to make sure I don’t take my eye off the ball and step into a fire ant nest while walking the dog, or sumpin’ silly like that.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

