Murphy’s Law

Standard

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Sometimes the sun is shining on a beautiful day in Needlepoint Land; other times it’s hot and humid enough to warp slat-wall panels faster than you can say Florida.

Yesterday, which was supposed to be the big day when the store counter arrived, turned into a huge challenge.

Essentially the freight company truck driver who delivered a 3 piece counter weighing hundreds of pounds refused to help me take it off a huge palette.  Instead, he left me stranded with it sitting in a parking space outside the store.

He never handed me the manifest, which was sealed tightly to one of the boxes.  When I finally read it, the manifest clearly stated Inside Delivery, which I had paid for.

This was an example of an aggressively rude and obnoxious truck driver taking advantage of a situation.

I thought I was going to have the leave the counter out in the parking lot to go get some help, but then a good Samaritan who was having lunch at the restaurant next door pitched in.  He was soon joined by a nice young woman who works in the frame shop adjoining Needlepoint Land.

So in the end, the needlepoint gods smiled on me a wee bit, and I was able to get everything in the store — thanks to Dave and Larissa.

Unfortunately, the 3 pieces of the counter do no quite align properly.  I cinched them best I could with cardboard, but I’m going to have to get a carpenter to secure them together as tightly as possible. For a moment, I felt like the thing made me look like an Irish publican! All I needed was an apron, a towel, a striped shirt with rolled up sleeves, and some pint glasses to polish.

The only real upside of this is I acquired two industrial pegboards (way better than what Lowe’s sells) which were attached to the pallet that the delivery guy left behind. I was thinking that I might need more pegboards and now have them courtesy of Mr. Not My Job guy.

On a different front, my tech team has indicated to me that the eCommerce vendor I was planning on working with has not cleared acceptance testing.  So my eStore plans are on hold for now.  No worries, I have all summer to find a solution that I can bet my store’s reputation on.

If there is one thing that is becoming apparent, it’s that a lot of unexpected things come up, when you are starting a store from scratch, that you would never normally think of checking.

For example, I never thought to unscrew the phone jacks and check to see if there was copper wiring inside.  When the AT&T guy came, it turns out the store had no inside wiring.

I never thought to take a level and make sure the floor was completely level.  When the $1000 counter was finally in the store, and it was obvious that it did not look right, I called the vendor in North Carolina.  They stated it must be a floor problem on my end. I’ll leave this to my new carpenter to figure out.

I never thought it would take 2 1/2 week to get a basic landline installed, or that the bank and the department of state tax revenue would take this long to coordinate with each and get their acts together.

I never thought my first installer would suddenly bail out on me for unforeseeable medical reasons.

And I never thought I couldn’t open my store until I scheduled an appointment for a city fire marshal to do a walk though before issuing me a $150 permit to open.

None of these things have dampened my enthusiasm.  Needlepoint Land is going to open this summer as planned.  It just may not be July 1st any more.

In the larger scheme of things, what’s the hurry?

I would rather have it set up right than rush to open and have my dream compromised by all these people I didn’t know from Adam the day before yesterday tell me half the story on many crucial things that turned out to be not so.  This became particularly evident on the online side of things.

The good news is I learned a long time ago to slow down in certain situations until I have it back under control. Usually doing some remedial stitching helps.

Such appears to be the case here.

As a fitting conclusion, the Dish Net install went great back at the house.  But I did end up having to move the modem to another Ethernet outlet.  Of course the outlet was dead, but the Dish Net guy was nice enough to hook it up for me at no extra charge so I could run my wireless router off of it.

At the end of the day, when I sat down to watch television and enjoy my new HD reception, a massive summer squall suddenly came over the house, and the TV picture froze. Then I started reading messages on the screen about having to go out and inspect the dish to make sure of something or other.

I might have even considered doing this, too, except for the somewhat intimidating lightning bolts and torrential sheets of rain.

Nobody said this was going to be easy.

😐

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

