That’s really nice

Standard

COP-TOTE_medium

I was reading this opinion piece in the NY Times about the lack of self-actualization of corporate drones, which is not exactly an incredibly fresh topic, while thinking it might serve as a straw man counterpoint to some puff post in Needlepoint Land about how hard-charging, chest-thumping, Ayn Rand-worshiping SMB entrepreneurs (like needlepoint shop owners) have no time for such fey distractions.

But instead of writing something as silly and self-serving as that, I actually took a closer look at the piece’s accompanying illustration — close enough, in fact. to want to look up who drew it.

Which is how I came across this post about Olivier Schrauwen’s graphical novel, My Boy. I had never heard of him or it before, but the excerpts shown in Liv Siddal’s article looked quite intriguing in a decidedly odd bird sort of way, which of course to me was part of their attraction.

Now this post was on a site called It’s Nice That, a London-based site by way of Helsinki that I had never heard of before either. I suddenly became rather interested in how it promotes itself as “a publishing platform that encompasses several different online, print and events offerings as part of its mission of championing creativity across the art and design world.”

It gets incredible global traffic, given the somewhat rarefied subject, but what I liked most about it is the consistently intelligent, well-written, and interesting articles about the vast subject of superior design from edgy designers who work in a variety of graphical mediums.

It’s Nice That is a real time thief that way, and I almost impulse bought the Parrot tote you see above.

Well, that’s it for my one weekly creative thinking break that the frustrated Organization Men and Women referenced in the Times piece complain about never having. I do think, however, that needlepoint designers might be well served in appearing in It’s Nice That — especially given the current Needlepoint: Is it Art or is it “just” a  Craft debate that has resurfaced of late on Facebook.

Currently the categories It’s Nice That covers are as follows.

It's Nice That Cats

 

Why not add needlepoint design?

I’ll leave you with this: if you are a talented designer who needs to get some major props in the design world and might be interested in expanding your presence outside the specialized provinces of needlepoint land, get on the horn, and I’ll see if I can’t work up a piece that gets you (and other needlepoint designers) in It’s Nice That.

Now that would be really nice.

😉

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

