Cubism

Standard

El Cube

The 12-Cube bookscase is now fully assembled.

I’ve placed it roughly  in the middle of the store’s 42′ wall R.  To the right of it I’ll now add 2 Homesote 8′ x 4′ tackboards, and to the left, an 8′ x 4′ slatwall panel, and another Homesote.

I’ve determined that all my big wall fixtures will be exactly 23″ down from the 9′ ceiling, so that the store looks pleasingly symmetrical when you walk in, and, more importantly,  I can reach everything without having to take an elevator.

There will also be enough space to create additional display area (shelves, etc) above these panel fixtures, but that will come later on.  First the big stuff has to be put together.

The guy who assembled The Cube was called Wayne. He said many new store owners try to assemble these units themselves but often fail.  So he gets to come in, but now everything that was numbered and packaged neatly is all over the place and it takes him longer to put it all together.

Wayne had 4 stitches on his nose from a recent surfboard accident.  He’s originally from New York State.  Small world. He was born across the Hudson, not that far from where I grew up, likes surfing and snowboarding, but lives in Florida and does in-store assembly for Office Depot on a contracting basis — when not in the Emergency Room getting his nose patched up.

I’m glad Wayne put this together.  It took him 2 hours+, and he does this all the time.  Tools that I do not have were needed to finish the job.  Worth the 60 bucks; one more thing off the checklist that I don’t have to worry about.

Later today, the Homesote panels, pegboards and slatwall panels are all going up.  George is coming by in the morning to start the job.  It was supposed to happen yesterday, but there was a delay due to a shoulder problem on his end.  Hope all heals up nicely and that work can commence today.

One positive about the slight delay is that it allowed my “tech team” to finish painting all the Homesote panels white, despite the intermittent rain.

Still much to do, but progress is continuing, relentlessly.

Got a major traffic boost yesterday, due to being referenced by Chilly Hollow (thanks Jane!) with respect to the Pinterest debate.

I love the clicks, but am deeply hurt that no one complimented me on the shivering gif I lovingly put together for that What About Me post.

😉

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. sorry about that. i just checked the What About Me post. it does look like comments are enabled. so i would try again. thx for commenting on the Cubism one though!

  2. The lack of replies could be related to the fact that I can’t get the comments section to work!

Leave a Reply

