Frank Saves the Day

Standard
American Ibis

American Ibis in shallow canal behind my store

I went by the store yesterday after a whirling tour of Hobe Sound and Stuart and snapped a pic of several American White Ibis wading in the shallow canal that sits behind Needlepoint Land, about 30 feet away from the back of the store.

The saga of the pegboard is finally coming to an end today.

A friend of my husband’s, Frank, has graciously agreed to help me transport the pegboard and slat wall to Needlepoint Land.  He is meeting us this morning around 11am in front of Lowe’s. So no worries about renting a truck. And it will save me on the Lowe’s $50 delivery charge.

I’ve discussed the pegboard saga extensively in earlier posts.  I wanted to buy a perforated hardboard that had better quality than the ones at Lowe’s, but I have no choice in the matter. Lowe’s, Home Depot and probably Walmart are the only source for this item in the area — the quality at Lowe’s and HD is equivalent. I guess the big box stores priced this item  so low (about $18 and change) that local lumber yards simply won’t bother to compete.

So despite my reservations as to the quality of their product, I have to buy it there.

Here is the slat wall.

4' x 8' Holland slat wall

4′ x 8′ Holland slat wall

So once Frank helps me move these things to the store, I don’t ever have to worry this pegboard business again. Since I cannot obtain a 4′ x 4′, I am going to buy a case cutter, measure it out, and cut the pegboard in half lengthwise.  That will give me the exact dimensions I need for my twin pegboard displays.

Yesterday, I bought from Office Depot the Cube Bookcase.  I am going to place this where I was going to have the cabinet: in the middle of the store, against the right wall, in front of the register.  I think it’s more functional, and I am not sure that restoring that old cabinet is worth the trouble.  This way I have something I can use for canvases and needlepoint books right away.  Delivery is free, but I have to pay them to assemble it.  No problem with that; although I could probably figure it out, I have too many other things to do.  This should be completed by Friday.

12-Cube Bookcase

12-Cube Bookcase

I also bought 3 (three) 4′ x 8′ 1/2″ Homasote tackboard panels from East Coast Lumber in Stuart.  They are delivering it free on Tuesday.

So I will have all the wall  fixtures physically in the store by the time the installer arrived on Tuesday to provide me with an estimate.  I know he is good, as he has done work for a friend of mine — custom carpentry in the house.  If I can’t get a fixed price quote, I may just do the job myself with the help of my husband.  We shall soon see about all that.

Finally, I’ve decide not to purchase that nice L-shaped counter, which would have cost around $1,100, delivery from NC inclusive.  It turned out to be veneer on particle board, not solid wood.  I think I can do better on price/quality.

Now all that will be left is finding a suitable counter / register, a work table fir taping canvases, a shelf with a clothes hanger bar (probably some idea that appeals to me from Ikea’s retail selections and have delivered and assembled by them) and a suitable table with chairs for any stitching classes I might hold at Needlepoint Land.

This table can also of course be used to display merchandise, or be available for the convenience of any customers who might just drop by the store, maybe pick up some threads, and stitch for a while.

Who could ask for anything more?!

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

