The L-Shaped Counter

Standard

L-shaped checkout counter

I’ve been holding off discussing the left wall of Needlepoint Land, partly because I have been avoiding a decision about what sort of checkout counter I’m going to have.

One thing I do know is that I want this area to be consistent with the high-end canvases I will be carrying.  I don’t want my customers to experience the jarring aesthetic dissonance of paying for a gorgeous painted needlepoint canvas over some dime store checkout counter.

This morning, I came across a nice  L-shaped counter with a slat wall front. It comes in a maple finish.  I like the natural maple finish you see in the picture but it also comes in white or black.  I would choose the maple. I don’t exactly know what this black strip is at the bottom, but will find out. [Update:  called the vendor; the black thing is a strip of some sort that protects the bottom section of the register area]

This is a pricey item, and I could only find it here.  The motor freight is probably monstrously expensive.

I will just have to call them this morning, then decide if spending all this money on a checkout counter makes sense from a business perspective.

That aside, I do think it would look heavenly on the left side of the store, and I can put a small wooden work table right behind it too for taping and pulling threads. That would be rather convenient.

As for the rest of the wall, I have pretty much decided by now how it will look.

Here is a layout of the entire store for easy reference, and some actual pictures of the space.

store-layout-v2

 

Going from back to front, the layout would look like this:

DMC boxes under glass shelvesa]  The DMC boxes can be stacked perfectly under the glass shelving of the back wall.  I will probably add more DMC boxes here.

b] The two 4′ x 4′ pegboards I have previously discussed at some length will go on each side of this nice piece of furniture that I already own. This setup would be between the counter and back wall.

c] The counter will go in the middle of the wall.  It is an extravagance, but I find I think it would really give out the right sort of impression I am looking to impart with Needlepoint Land. Plus I can securely attach the Mobile POS system I’m putting in to the counter with screws or nails, thus discouraging break-in theft.

Pegboard Seperatord] To the left of the counter, I could add a Holland 4′ x 8′ slatwall panel.  I can purchase this one at Lowe’s without busting the budget.

Finally, there is a vitrine in the front part of the wall that looks out to the outdoor seating of the Old Dixie Restaurant which is next door. It is about 7′ feet long but I will have to re-measure to make sure. (Note:  It is 6 feet wide)

During season, this restaurant is a magnet for patrons who are likely to wander into my store after or before a weekday lunch or Sunday brunch.

VitrineHowever, I do want to create a sort of decompression zone when you first walk into Needlepoint Land — and not have this vitrine make the front of my store act as a sort of extension of the restaurant experience.

So I am probably going to put up some sort of room divider panel to partially obstruct that view.  This would also allow me to pin canvases that seated restaurant patrons could see, and also carve out a separate front window display area.

Much to think about.

I’ll let you all know what I decide about the check out counter.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Love the cabinet. You need it, it looks high class. I hate paying for a high price canvas, when the counter is covered with paperwork and junk.

  2. LOVE the counter. It will look great as you outlined. It will also allow you to have some “off-limits” space and not have people walking behind you! All you need is a fluffy little dog to be laying on his/her specially stitched dog bed and in the window!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

