Ready, typeset, print

Standard

OfficeMess

 

A couple of months ago, I went to an office supply chain to order business cards, finishing and special order forms.

Things seemed to be going well as I told a nice young woman there how I wanted my printed collateral to look.

A couple of days later, I called to ask if the proofs were ready, but the young woman I was dealing sounded alarmingly hoarse. She told me to come to the store tomorrow.

“Are you sure you are going to be able to go to work?” I said.

” Yes,” she assured me, “it’s just a cold, I am taking antibiotics and I will be there at 3 p.m.”

So I show up and she’s out sick. And no call telling me anything about it.

Moreover, no one at the store seemed to know anything about my business cards, or anything else. I head back home empty-handed. Did I mention this is a 30-mile round trip from my house?

A couple of days later the young woman finally calls and informs me to meet her at the store  the next day at 5 p.m.

“Great”, I say, “see you then.”

I drove up and — egads! — she’s actually there this time.

But instead of talking to me about my project, it turns out that she was now temporarily in charge of the entire store — not just the printing department, which was located way at the back of this rather large retail space. This is the sorry state of too much of big retail in Florida these days, I guess. Skeleton staffs of part-time workers at minimum wage and no benefits do beget minimal results.

As I patiently brought up the subject of my trademark store parrot logo, the young woman suddenly left to go help at the register up front. She returned after a bit, listened to me prattle on about my parrot again for a minute, then did it again.

Eventually she pawns me off to a trainee and disappears for good.

The trainee doesn’t really know how to work the computer and it’s his first day on the job. For some reason, I have to give my contact information all over again, since everything I thought I had conveyed at the first visit seemed to been lost.

The young man assures me that everything is now under control.

I head back home and wait.

A week later, I am at the store again to finalize what sort of card stock and ink color I want. I’m handed this amateurish looking mock business card and.. wait a minute!!!– all my contact  info is incorrect.

So I just leave.

Earlier this week, I had a rather different experience with a local shop that just specializes in printing. I told the owner my sad sack story with the office supply chain.

He responded, “Them doing printing is like me trying to sell office furniture .”

Good point.

It quickly became obvious that this man knew exactly what he was doing. I’m now confident that I will get my business cards and forms done in a reasonable amount of time and that they will look attractively professional.

Not only that, but his price quote for the job is more than comparable to that of the office supply chain.

Go figure.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

