Space…

Standard

 

Canvases Hanging from Coat Rack

… is the canvas frontier at Needlepoint Land. And just like canvas stitching usually involves following a design, so does opening a needlepoint store require one to design the display space in advance if one is to end up with an attractive end result that is scaled to the planned inventory on hand.

Let’s say I only have 120 painted needlepoint canvases to start with on July 1st for the store (I also plan to have a separate eCommerce channel on Amazon for consignment pieces.)

To make a rough estimate of how much wall surface they would require for display, I’ve grouped them into three size categories:

1.  Small (9″ x 9″) – 45 items

2. Medium (16″ x 13″) – 45 items

3. Large (22″ x 22″) – 30 items

Doing the arithmetic, all 120 units facing flat would take up 27,545 in2 of wall space.

I had planned to use the right side wall of my store to display canvases. It measures 42′ x 9′, which works out to 54,432 in2. I have chosen, for the most part, not to display my canvases by simply pinning them directly on to the wall.

Instead, I can put up three 8′ x 4′ display panels on this wall, resulting in 13,824 square inches of display space.  Not enough space, though.

(By the way, these display panels replace the extretmely heavy cork panels I discussed in an earlier post.

Cork panel do not work for me because I don’t want to display my canvases against a dark background.

These panels have a neutral color that will not detract from the canvases. In addition, the cork board are too much High School bulletin board-ish.)

If I added another panel, it still only works out  to 18,432 square inches.

So what’s the solution?

Other than pinning my canvases directly to the wall, a cost-effective way to increase the display efficiency of this wall is install a shelf (on top of which I can display finished pieces, or what not) with a built-in coat hanger bar that’s maybe 3 or 4 feet long.

I can also place magazine racks on the floor at the base of the panels.

Together, these additional display methods would accommodate many additional canvases.

After I publish this post, I will be going to the East Coast Lumber company in Stuart to order the Homasote PINnacle 440s 3/8″.  If these work out, I can order more later this year as my store inventory requirements evolve.

I don’t know yet where I am going to obtain this shelf with a built-in hanger, unless I go something like the Ikea route (this particular one may be a little too modernistic and bathroom-ish for a needlepoint store), or pay someone to build it (expensive), or use a regular DIY assembly garment rack (semi cheesy looking, as you can see from the pic up top).

Luckily the magazine holder is available at Staples and is quite  affordable, despite its semi fusty newspaper rack at the local library vibe. I’m just going to have to get a price quote from a handy man I have used before to do work on the house, and decide custom vs Ikea re the shelving.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

3 responses »

  1. I have really enjoyed reading about your adventure. I am so sad that we no longer winter in Port St Lucie – I would be your best customer and new best friend!!! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

