Canvas & Thread Displays

Standard

Importicos Bakery Cafe

Just got back from visiting Home Depot, East Coast Lumber, and Importico’s, the bakery that’s right next to Needlepoint Land.

I’m interested in the pastry shop not only because they have yummy Feta and Spinach croissants that they make on the premises, but also because they use the Vantiv POS system. I will be talking about Vantiv in much more detail in a later post, after I visit the local A&T outlet, which happens to be close to my store.

Here’s the scoop on today’s To Do List:

1.  Pegboard update.

Perforated HardboardWent to Home Depot at 7:30am. Had to make a special request for the 4′ x 4′ perforated hardboard.  I asked about cutting a regular 4′ x 8′ lengthwise, but they only have rough lumber saws in the store (same as at Lowe’s).  So if they cut it that way, it will be a mess.

If they do not have this available on special order, then  I will have to ask an installer to cut it the correct way to my specifications.  There are plenty of DIY instructions on the Internet as to how to do this, I just don’t have the saw necessary for the job and don’t intend on buying it.

John Lennon once asked how many holes does it take to fill the Albert Hall.  Unless my math is off, a  4′ x 4′ “pegboard” (this is actually a brand name) that has 1″ hole spacing will contain 1600 holes. I came up with this number after taking 1″ from each edge to account for the hole spacing. Thus:

(4 x 10) x (4 x 10) = 1600

So two of these boards will give me 3200 holes, which will be more than sufficient room to handle my needlepoint threads.

I do have some metal hooks on hand, but as I discussed earlier, they tend to angle up slightly when you fit them into a pegboard hole.  Plus the ones I have are not all in the best possible shape.

New metal hooks cost around 90 cents apiece, so this can add up very quickly. I have no intention of spending all this money on metal hooks for threads.

So what’s the solution?

A lower-cost alternative from Staples should do fine.  I can buy these 6″ hooks in sets of 50 at around 35 cents each, which is a big savings.  The only thing about plastic hooks is they tend to break after a while.  No big deal.  I will just replace them if they do so.

 Meanwhile, I await patiently Home Depot’s call for an update on the Special Order 4′ x 4′ pegboard availability. (Note:  Home Depot cannot obtain a 4′ x 4′ pegboard from BlueLinx, their distributor)

2. PINnacle Tackboard Panels

I went next to East Coast Lumber in Stuart.  They happen to have 1/2″ panels in stock.  I took a look, and they are perfect.  Much better idea than the cork. And you cannot beat the price:  around $33 per.

After calling Homasote, the manufacturer in Jersey, it turns out that I can even paint these with a roller and white latex paint.  No problem because the panels contain paraffin wax which prevents the paper composite (this is an eco-friendly product, which is a big plus in my book) from sucking up all the paint.

So I will buy three, have an installer hang them up, and paint them in the store.  This is an extremely cost-effective solution, particularly when compared to the colored cork panels which were around 500 dollars apiece!  To top things off, East Coast Lumber gave me a recommendation for an apparently very good installer/carpenter who may be able to help get the fixtures put in. He’s has done good work for other stores around town.

I’ll be sure to get a free estimate first.

3. Magazine Racks

Folding Wood Print RackAfter I mentioned in the previous post that I was looking into getting a Magazine/Newspaper rack  to expand  my canvas display space — but that I was not particularly enchanted with its fusty library vibe — I received a wonderful email from Marilyn who suggested a fabulous alternative.

Marilyn is the former owner of needlepoint shop, and a reader of my blog. Although I have never met her in person,  she was nice enough to suggest via email that I might want to use this folding wood print rack instead.  I love this idea, and the price is so very right!

So thank you Marilyn for this great, great tip.  This is in fact exactly what I will be using in Needlepoint Land for my canvas floor displays, which will fit just right below the Tackboard Panels on the wall.  I’m going with the Beechwood finish.

Okay, time to scoot.

Stayed tuned for tomorrow’s update on Erin’s incredible adventures in needlepoint land!

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. I’m going tomorrow bright and early back to Home Depot to see where they stand. Didn’t hear from them today, so I’m guessing no luck. Will decide what to do then. Thank you for your support!
    E.

  2. Have you considered renting the saw that you need to cut the pegboard? It might be cheaper then hiring someone to do it.

  3. thank you kathy! it’s funny, but writing them is keeping me organized. sort of like a combination to do list and a diary of how each little to do turns out.

Leave a Reply

