What about me?

Standard

 

What About Moi

… been very busy running around these past few days doing some rather mundane but time-consuming things to get my store ready for business, so I haven’t had much time to check out what is driving the recent surge in traffic I’ve been getting on my blog.

Usually I only received tsunami style waves of traffic (which I used to define as anything over 10 views per day) when Chilly Hollow shone a spotlight on poor little Needlepoint Land.

But now it’s holding steady, instead of dropping back down to minus 10 views or something equally dreary. So I took a quick look at some of the referrers on my blog stats page.

Then I noticed this.

Now I think it’s great that my friend Mary Agnes is getting a little publicity on Pinterest, but the thing is I just can’t for the life of me recall “Nadine” ever contacting me to ask permission if she could use this picture — which is by the way protected by reference in the Needlepoint Land copyright notice.

Just in case Nadine missed that gem, here is what it clearly states:

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, including original text, images, animations, and videos, without express and written permission from Needlepoint Land, LLC., is strictly prohibited. 

I’m not going to be a hardass about this, but I do think “ask before you use” is the polite netiquette thing to do, unless a pic is in the public domain or designated as shareable. But as you can see from the previous link, it’s a thorny issue.

Netiquette, schmetiquette.

Everybody nicks from everyone else on the Internet, including me.

With Pinterest’s valuation now hitting the $5B mark, what I really want to know is when am I getting a piece of the action?

ADDENDUM

Commercial and non commercial Art & Crafts bloggers have every right to be concerned about this issue in terms of having some of their site traffic usurped and their unique images copied without authorization.

Needlepoint designers and painted canvas vendors need to be particularly wary of posting high resolution images of their stock-in-trade on their web sites or blogs.

This brouhaha with the coopting and/or resale of copyrighted material is not a new thing with Pinterest.

In fact, it had been a long standing complaint against the service. To partially deal with the problem, Pinterest eventually tweaked their parsing engine to recognize specific XHTML meta tag parameters.

If a document contained meta tags with the name and content attributes set to “pinterest” and “nopin”, respectively, then Pinterest would warn a user to obtain permission from the page owner in order to pin the desired image.

This code would not, however, actually prevent a Pinterest user from pinning said image without obtaining its owner’s permission.

The XHTML code looks  like this.

nopin

This of course also does not prevent, say, a sniping tool from being used to download a copy of the image, which cannot be disabled.

In addition, “free” WordPress bloggers cannot modify their posts or pages such as to disable mouse right-click driven saves.  This is because Javascript is unsupported in WordPess.com.

Moreover, WordPress.com does not give bloggers access to meta tags.

Therefore the meta code shown above is completely useless to WordPress bloggers — as it cannot be implemented.

And that, as they say, is how the cookie crumbles.

😦

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. I am enjoying reading about your journey opening your store. Wish I lived closer. Good luck and I wish you great success!

  2. Thanks Lisa–I am so glad you like my blog. I look forward to meeting you too when NPL opens this summer.

  3. I am really loving your blog. You are hitting it on all cylinders. Looking forward to meeting you when your store opens!

Leave a Reply

