Lost in the funhouse

Standard

Some of you may still have my recent existential, FPL-related post fresh in your minds.  This is the one where the local electric company informed me that the address where Needlepoint Land is located does not exist.

Well, I got all that straightened out earlier this week.  Maybe it was yesterday.  All these startup mode,  to-do checklists are turning into a bit of a blur.

So I went yesterday to the store to get my new mailbox key.  I couldn’t use the old mailbox key because the previous tenant forgot to return it.  The handyman who acts like a kind of super in the cozy little plaza where my store is located was supposed to change the lock for me.

I was waiting for the AC guy to come by to take care of the potential flood situation in the back that turned out to be nothing more that the adjacent store’s AC unit drip line being clogged, when the super guy showed up and gave me the new keys.

I was of course pleased as pie.

Lost in the Funhouse book cover - John Barth

Lost in the Funhouse book cover – John Barth

The only problem, I promptly found out,  was that he had changed the locks on the wrong mailbox, which I discovered when I went to retrieve my mail, and saw that it belonged to the framing business next to me, and now the mailman was gone, and it was too late to switch locks.

Jeepers.

For a moment I thought FPL maybe was right about the store not existing thing.

I quickly recovered, though, and got a grip on the situation.

First I delivered the mail to the framer, who’s a very nice guy, and explained to me what happened when the power suddenly went out, Tuesday I think it was.

Some unfortunate bird stopped to rest on the power line behind the stores and caught fire, the poor thing.  (He apparently shorted out a transformer, a totally freak accident, before bursting into flames and tumbling down into the dumpster below.)

Then I told the super guy not to worry about the mail box till tomorrow, when the mailman would surely come by again.

This is what being an entrepreneurial retail bigwig is all about, is what I’m fixin’ to tell ya.  You, yes you, and only you, are responsible for making sure everything is set up properly, and in good working order.

That’s what I love about it, actually.

I’m going out now to meet a customer at Needlepoint Land, and maybe finally get the right keys to my mailbox.

After all, if the post office can deliver mail to my store, then I’m most definitely not lost in some needlepoint Barthean funhouse.

As I like to say, it’s just another day in Needlepoint Land!

😉

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

