What a corker!

Standard

 

Right wall - Cork Display

Needlepoint Land Store Floor Plan

Okay, now that I have a basic layout for my needlepoint shop, the next order of business is to determine how to display my merchandise.

As discussed in a previous post, there are several options for this.  The one I want to talk about here is the wall display that most customers are likely to encounter when they first walk into Needlepoint Land (see diagram above).

Needlepoint Land Storefront

Needlepoint Land Storefront

The tendency of most customers is to veer to the right upon entering a store.

A typical customer is therefore likely to first move toward where the yellow arrow is pointing.

It’s below the blue rectangle marked (3), which I envision as  a mid-store  focal point that displays needlepoint books, and knickknacks, such as frames and scissors, and what not. — perhaps some sort of eye-catching étagère, if I’m lucky enough to find a suitable piece in a local consignment place.

If the étagère turns out to measure 4 feet in width, then the area where the arrow is pointing would end up approximately 19′ long.

Therefore, I need a display fixture that’s around 12′ x 4′  — big enough so I don’t have a lot of empty wall showing that’s non-revenue producing.

Swing Panels

Swinging panels

High end display panels, such as swinging, mounted panels, for example, are space efficient but pricey.

As a startup, I want to allocate most of my budget to merchandise.

And that’s where a little entrepreneurial resourcefulness comes in handy.

Instead of mounted panels, a cork plate panel might do the trick.  So I did some research.

A quick visit to Loewe’s and Home Depot locally yielded no results.  And the cork boards at Staples were too small and expensive.

After some additional research, I found a vendor in Texas who provides various plus-sized cork boards at affordable prices.

There are framed and unframed cork panels.  They are made of a resilient ¼” thick natural cork, bonded to ¼” thick durable substrate.

I happen to like natural cork because it’s attractive looking, and recovers nicely from pin holes.

Here are some of the choices available.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

By the way, these panels are pretty heavy, between 80 and 100 lbs each .  So I’d better start right away with my new weight lifting program at Gold’s.

Jokes aside, the choice is going to be between framed and unframed natural cork (the color ones are double the price, so that’s out).

Now the framed ones are 8′ x 4′, and the unframed boards 12′ x 4.

That’s a huge difference in coverage.

So, I’m most likely going to choose an unframed panel (choice #2), which might even look quite chic, while boasting mega startup cred.

Or perhaps I might choose instead to hang two cork tackboards with Origin trim (choice #4), for a slightly more uptown vibe, and greater coverage.

Either way the panels will most likely be completely hidden by the canvases.

😉

 

 ©  Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

One response »

Leave a Reply

