Fixating on Fixtures

Standard
Needlepoint Canvas

Barbara Bergsten Designs

Still on a now-I-have-my own-store buzz from Friday, when I signed the lease for Needlepoint Land’s retail space.

After calling the water and electric companies tomorrow to get the AC and water turned on (this is obviously crucial!), I’m going to wash and vacuum the store to get it all squeaky clean.  I may even apply a fresh coat of paint on the walls.  We’ll see about that.  The walls are already in pretty good shape, and if after washing them down they pass muster, painting may not be necessary — particularly since much of the surface will be covered by the various wall display installations.

I’m meeting some customers this coming week before they go back up North.  So I won’t break out my painting outfit till probably Thursday, if the paint job is a go.

In the meantime, I’m already obsessing about how I’m going to display the needlepoint merchandise in my store.

I already have a pretty good idea as to what fixtures I’ll be using for the threads — a combination of standard slatboards, pegboards and spinners is what I am thinking —  so now it’s all about the canvases.

Let’s take a step back for a minute.

There are a lot of theories out there about store and merchandise layout.

My own philosophy, after all is said and done, is make Needlepoint Land as easy as possible for my customers to find what they want.

My goal is to come up with an open, inviting, visually attractive store layout.  The truth of the matter is that I am just starting out on this venture, so the open layout part  seems like a no-brainer strategy!

Now many needlepoint shops display their canvases on some sort white cork or matted board. It’s a cost-effective approach and looks nice in the bargain.

I’m going to do the same.

I may also go for some sort of wooden bookcase/armoire display unit, if that makes sense.

And I might even keep some of the canvases in the drawers of  a map filing cabinet, if I can find an attractive one that’s affordable.

I really like the idea of having wall-mounted swinging panel display, or even ones that are connected to floor stands. These don’t take up much room, but, alas, they are surprisingly expensive, so that’s out for now.

In the end, it’s probably going to be a mix of many of these options, and of course the trick will be to end up with a flexible (that is to say, easily reconfigurable) store layout that won’t break my Fixtures and Furniture budget.

Time to go measure the walls and get started on my store layout plan!

Note:

Here’s a pic of me later in the day welcoming a couple of good friends who stopped by to see the store. (click to enlarge.)

Friends Stopping by Needlepoint Land

 

 

©  Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

 

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. I look forward to seeing you on Wednesday, MJ and yes, I am sure you’ll be hearing from me for your expert advice!!! I can’t wait to show you the new place!

  2. Congratulations!!! I’m delighted – if I can be of any help to you, just ask.

    See you on Wednesday. Want to do lunch before you come over?

    Best of luck, MJ

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

