Snoopy from the Land of Down Under

Standard
needlepoint snoopy

Snoopy’s Tennis Lesson

I’ve made a miraculous recovery, after being laid up in traction yesterday from walking oodles of miles on the beach last week.

Glad Pete Carroll’s team won last night, btw (as some of you know from this post, I’m a semi-rabid American “footie” fan) … he was never given a proper chance to guide the Jetsonians.  Plus this manic Jim Harbaugh character always acts like he skipped his morning Zyprexa on game day.  What a headcase!

Anyway,  I’m off to play tennis this morning.

retro tennis racket

Woodie, at rest

I’m going to have to part with this fabulous wooden tennis racket, which I used recently as a prop on my blog, and return it to the tennis pro who usually lets me win a couple of games.  And, no, it’s not Fedberg.

Needlepoint tennis racket covers were big in the 70’s, and occasionally you will see them available on those auction web sites.  Now with squash rackets so big, perhaps you could house your squash racket in an old needlepoint cover.  People are big in Florida on stitching needlepoint socks for their golf clubs.  Don’t mind me:  I’m just free-associating at the comp, as I have my morning coffee before leaving!

Perfect tennis weather this morning:  brilliant sunshine in a cloudless sky; high 60s to low 70s — which is what draws the snowbies this time of year.  It’s like money in the bank.

Despite the pleasant weather, though, I seem to be  having be having strange and unusual Frank Dancevic-type Snoopy hallucinations.

Is it the subtropical latitude, or I am just obsessed with needlepoint stitching?!

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

