A day at the beach

Standard

I decided to walk on the beach again this morning, even though there was a light drizzle, a litte after sunrise.

I ended up walking all the way to here — known as Peck’s Lake…. and renowned for its snook fishing.

It was roughly a 4 – 5 mile round-trip walk in the sand, on a protected patch of barrier island near where I live.

The color of the aquarelle water and the pastel sky were particularly beautiful today.

I ended up checking out the beach replenishment project that is going on.

In the pictures you see above,  bulldozers are creating an island berm on the shore, with a small channel that is being filled by a pipe with water and sand sluicing through.

Here’s a webcam that allows you to view the project’s slow progress.  The page also has lot of tidal and meteorological information, as well as some cool pics.

This sand is being dredged up from a nearby inlet (the St. Lucie River inlet)… and brought to Peck’s Lake on top of flat barges, then funneled from the Intracoastal Waterway via a huge, partially-submerged pipe over the dunes and onto the beach.

Not really sure if all the chemicals that must seep into the sand from the Lake Okeechobee toxic discharges all wash away.

I certainly hope so:  this summer, this semi tropical ocean water was the color of iodine on some days.

In addition, this year the sand dunes were very high — possibly resulting from last year’s replenishment.  Many sea turtle dug their nests too close to the waterline, since, on large swaths of the beach, the poor chelonians had to climb 4-5 foot dunes to lay their eggs.

Be that as it may, there are really few places left these days where you can go on solitary walks like this, and see so much beauty.  This is one of the few such places remaining in the southeast of the United States.

The last pic you see in my video montage above is of my German shepherd puppy.

I brought her with me to another park, later,to take a closer look at the dredging going on in the inlet, which you can see in the distance in some of the pics.

I definitely got a workout today!

Nota Bene

Here’s a panoramic view of what the place looked like the following day.

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. Thanks. I enjoyed the walk without all the exercise! Seriously, that’s a part of Florida I never see when I visit the kin in Miami.

  2. Wow!!! That was quite a walk!!! Looks beautiful!!! Cheers!!! Ian anticipating lots if stitching during the next few days!!!! Mary Ellen

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

