Turtle Toon Teaser

Standard

Ever lament when tennis balls officially went yellow at Wimbledon?

I do.

Erin's woodie racquet

Erin’s woodie racquet

But then again, I still, er, pine for the days when Mack and Jimmy played with wooden rackets.  Not to mention when Rocket and Newk ruled.

At any rate, here’s an exclusive teaser peek at the upcoming needlepoint turtle tennis animation.

You like?

Notice how the head and arms move slightly, as the turtle travels from right to left.  Also the tail wiggling at the end.  Of course I haven’t put in the time to make this trailer look real slick, so tiny spaces appear when the body parts move, but there you have it.

So what should Miss Tennis Turtle Muffet do?

I’ve read the very interesting comments / suggestions (in the previous post), and may  in fact end up trying them out, but what I want to attempt first is something really simple that is not going to consume all my waking hours for the next month!  (though I really appreciated the suggestions.)

First I need some kind of tennis court surface, like this one, which I nicked off one those free clip art site.

Tennis court

Tennis court

Now what?

How about this:

The turtle ambles on to the court, digs a hole in the ground, crouches over it, lays some white tennis balls eggs, then shoves off.

If I weren’t such a sea turtle fan, I’d probably then have some gigantic tennis racket suddenly appear out of nowhere and go SPLAT!!!  But no, that would be wrong, childish, and grotesquely cruel.

Sort of like this.

Anyway,  if I can pull this off (even sans the splat bit at the end), this animation might actually turn out to be rather smashing!

Stay tooned.

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

