Turtle Pong

Standard

Well it’s Saturday morning, and the sun is finally shining brightly in Fla after days of monsoon like rains, so it must be toon time!

Here’s a canvas I have been kind of thinking about lately as a candidate for my next state-of-the-art, ground-breaking, razzle-dazzle needlepoint animation.

Tennis Turtle

Now, if I were to stitch her, I would definitely do the tennis ball shell in Very Velvet bright yellow.

But it is Saturday morning, after all, so I got to wondering… what if I animated her?  You know, turned her into some kind of simple version of Turtle Tennis?

Well… to start off, maybe she could magically morph into something like this.

needlepoint animation

Cartoon Toitle

Now we’re talking!

But… now what?

I’m stuck.

What should I instruct my world-class Needlepoint Land Studios animators to have it do?   They are staring at me sullenly, btw, with the hint of a snarly, curled upper lip, a la Elvis.

Help!!!

Well, if you want, leave a comment with a short description as to what this turtle ought to do next.

All ideas are welcome, even the crappy ones.

Ball is in your court!

t-ball smikey

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

Tennis Ball Smiley by Zazzle

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

6 responses »

  1. Hopefully it will be fun! I did some miniature oriental rugs ALL counting on 40 mesh silk gauze. Lots of color changes–they are so beautiful and worth all the work. I am sure you will love it when it’s finally done.

  2. I still have my turtle Erin! Need to finish this mosque carpet nightmare. Yours is adorable! Jump over a net? Something with love? I bet it will be sunny happy and beautiful.

  3. Love it! Your turtle toon ideas sound a little like me when I play tennis, especially trying to run a drop shot down. I don’t think my inadequate animators can handle the umpire chair thingie, but will run it by them. Thx for the ideas Lacysuzette!

  4. Tennis anyone? Your turtle could be standing up holding her racket in her front foot & positioned slightly backwards of perpendicular, as if reaching for a lob. In another scene, her back leg could be longer than the front, tapping a line–as in foot fault. (A tapping foot might be the easiest to animate) Can she sit in the raised green linesman’s chair? Just climbing into the chair would be a hoot. I suspect there are a lot more tennis-related moves that you can think of & she can do!

  5. OK I’ll play. Have her(?) approaching another turtle who is flirting with her. Or a baby turtle. Or a sand castle.

Leave a Reply

