Long Tail Tabby

Standard
needlepoint cat

Mr. Tabby

I love cats.

Some time ago, I saw a needlepoint canvas online that I really liked but couldn’t get.

Mr. Tabby had been sold, and there were no more to had.

So I made a really crappy photocopy, and mulled over what to do next.

Then I had this bright idea.

Why not have a needlepoint artist interpret Mr. Tabby?

So I asked two talented friends of mine — whose initials both happen to be A. C. — to come up with something, but changing it around sufficiently such as to not infringe on any copyrights.

The truth is, I figured only one of them would come through, particularly since I only had this really tiny, poor quality photocopy for them to work from.

Lo and behold, both ended up making me an original version of Mr. Tabby.  What beauties!

I took pics and decided to fool around on Gimp and create a second, Op Art-ish inverted image of each canvas.

And now… without further long-winded ados… here are four fantastic interpretations of Mr. Tabby….. tada!!!

needlepoint cat

Mr Tabby 1

needlepoint cat

Mr. Tabby 1 Op Art

needlepoint cat

Mr. Tabby 2

needlepoint cat

Mr. Tabby 2 Op Art

And here they are as an animation.

Mr. Tabby as Gulliver

Mr. Tabby zooming large and small

Goes well with Alabama Song.

And here’s stunned Mr. Tabby watching.

Mr. Tabby's Eyes Rolling

Mr. Tabby’s Eyes Rolling

Auf Wiedersehen.

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

Alabama Song (Brecht / Weil), recorded by Lotte Lenya.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Thx Jan! He’s my fave also, despite his weird front paws. Btw, I’ve created an animation from all 4 images, which is already up on the blog. Meanwhile…I’ll ponder how I’m going to stitch Mr. Tabby 2.

Leave a Reply

