Last train to Needlepointville

Standard
Vintage canvas by Sunshine Design 18m 24" x 6.75"

Vintage canvas by Sunshine Design 18m 24″ x 6.75″

Sometimes I need a break from the beehive of frantic activity that is life in Florida, so I hop on the needlepoint rail train to see what else is going on.

Today, I did a basic Google search with just the key word “needlepoint.”  I decided to get off at the last stop in the line to see what’s out there.

Lionel Trains - R. L. PlummerGoogle’s very last search result (there were actually less than 400 entries, overall, which surprised me) was something about needlepoint bearings.

Clever Google or dumb Google?

My curiosity was piqued.  I had no idea what needlepoint bearings were.  I clicked on the search result.  It was a snippet of some book by R. L. Plummer about Lionel toy trains (see pic to the left).  I suddenly remembered a relative of mine owning a set back in the day, and felt, well, transported.

Thomas LocomotiveI quickly snapped out of it, then, just for kicks, looked up Lionel trains on the Google.   Yes, they were still around.  So I checked out their interesting back story, which I never knew, and idly leafed through their fancy-shmancy catalog. Isn’t this Thomas locomotive the cutest?

This got me thinking some more about needlepoint trains.  I was definitely on a roll now.  After all, I’d just had a train canvas finished this week, and have a few needlepoint train designs on hand, other than the one you see up top.

(I have a soft spot for old-fashioned, unsophisticated designs, such as the Sunnyland one.  To fill in the line drawings… all that’s needed is imagination and some fancy threads!!!)

Here’s one of those modern train designs.

4.25 " x 3.5"

4.25 ” x 3.5″

And here’s another.

2.5" x 3.75"

2.5″ x 3.75″

Then I got to thinking:  what about other needlepoint trains out there?  After all, this is a needlepoint day trip.

Hmmm.

Well, there’s this pre-done children’s belt from Smathers and Branson.

Train Belt

And a nice Rebecca Wood design you can stitch yourself.

Christmas Train  - Rebecca Wood Design 16 by 6 18m

I was about to return home, when I came across an interesting train reference in Chilly Hollow, which is kind of the Grand Central of needlepoint. Bingo.

Much to my delight, it turned out to be the work of a talented needlepoint designer and stitcher par excellence, Jan from Thread Medley, who also blogs on WordPress!

So, as a final side trip, I decided to check it out.

Fabulous!  Love her stitching.

I’m definitely going to have to get in touch with Jan to find out how that big locomotive by Anne Cram is chugging along.

Hope you had an entertaining trip!

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for the mention, Erin. Sorry I’m slow to respond – we’ve been out of town for several days. The antique train is on the floor frame, nagging me every day to pick up a needle and get with it. Soon….

Leave a Reply

