Postcards from Provence

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh la-la.

I love the South of France.

The framed picture in the slide show above  is of one my favorite wall posters.  I picked it up what seems a lifetime ago in Cannes.  As you can see, I liked it so much, I had it framed — even though it was only a museum announcement poster.

(Btw, I took that one, and the rooster snap with the Provence blue background; the Cassis pic was cropped from Glenys’ Rome & Beyond, and the Pointus in Nice’s Old Port from Wiki Fr.; the beautiful 1962 song in the SoundCloud track I included at the bottom is sung by Richard Anthony.)

L'entrée de Saint-Romain-en-Viennois

L’entrée de Saint-Romain-en-Viennois

I also bought some nice Provence postcards on that 2003 trip.

These are repros of serigraphs from the Polish artist Estivalet, very popular in the States for quite some time now.

I’m just folle for that lavender fields and cypress trees look.

I probably should try to keep this standing love affair with things French in check.  Maybe I should start reading Stephen Clarke.  Hmm.

What I’ve done, instead, is purchase canvases by Sandra Gilmore, a talented needlepoint artist who’s created a number of stunning Provence-themed designs.

Click on the jump to see the ones I have in stock.

Aren’t they très magnifiques?!!

Though a bit, ahem, on the pricey side, they’re well worth it, as the stitch painted workmanship is absolutely impeccable.

So…

If you suddenly find yourself with a yen to stitch a touch of Provence, and decide to buy one of these beauties (or any other Sandra Gilmore canvases you see here), just get in touch, and I will be à votre service!

CC logo

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

Leave a Reply

