WTG, Andie

Standard
Kirt's Stocking

Kirt’s Stocking

I received this really nice email today from a friend of mine whom I haven’t heard from in a while.

I guess it’s because she was busy stitching this beautiful San Francisco Christmas stocking for her husband, Kirt.  Ah, the joys of 18m and stocking bigness.  (Please click on the stocking to see a larger image.)

Sometimes, when I pull threads for someone else’s needlepoint project, I never see the result.

When pulling colors for a canvas, I try to find different textured threads and color values.  There’s an art to this, and a little luck!

Andie and I spent some time working on this together and experimenting with lots of different combinations of threads and colors.

I’m not one who normally likes to take bows after patting myself on the back, but… part of Andie’s email read, “I was very pleased with it.  It turned out so beautifully  thanks to you and your ‘eye’ for color and thread.  I really appreciate all the help you gave me way back when.”

Thanks Andie for the kudos and for emailing me the pic.  I look forward to seeing the stocking in person.

Andie’s a really great stitcher:  you can see how she used a variety of pattern stitches to add dimension and depth to the many beautiful sights of San Francisco.  Andie also included a lovely embroidered message on the inside lining of the stocking.

Btw, the finishing of this stocking is also perfection — I love the tassels and the big jingle bells. Note how each tassel compliments the many colors in Kirt’s stocking.

All I  can say is…well done!

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

