Automated Charting

Standard

So let’s say you created some needlepoint design, a next step might be to chart it.

Design by Erin

Design by Erin

In a previous post, I showed how to use Gimp to mark up a grid manually.  This is of course a very clunky and error prone way to go about things.

What if software could do the job automatically?

Assuming you created your design in Gimp (or some software that outputs some standard graphical format file), it is possible to use a free app called Crosti to see how your fantabulous design would look charted out for cross stitch.

You can find Crosti here.

I just tried it out and literally at the press of a button I had an x cross chart of my Panther design.  It took me seconds to do this using the built-in wizard.

I have not looked into how to change grid density, nor have I verified the results it produces in terms of accuracy — but at first glance it looks pretty cool.

Here are some pics, which you can click on to see huge images.

(I changed the panther to a tawny color on a white background so I could see the entire grid.)

Main Window

Main Window

Eye Closeup

Eye Closeup

Ear Print Out

Ear Print Out

I’ll keep looking around for something open source, free software that does the same for needlepoint.  In the meantime, maybe I’ll use the Crosti chart to help me draw or paint my panther design.

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

