DIY Canvas Design: Part III — Tracing your design (canvas/printout setup)

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Disclaimer: This tutorial series is intended for educational purposes only and is aimed at needlepoint hobbyists. If you make use of any information presented in this series, please do not infringe on any copyrights.

I’ve finished doodling with my awesome design.  I’m now ready to create a line drawing.  First, I’ll print out my design on 8 1/2″ x 11″ paper.  Any old printer paper will do, by the way; nothing fancy needed here. 

Artistic Pins

Artistic Pins

Then I’ll place my canvas over my printout (I’m using the B&W one), and pin it to a foam core board (which you can buy at Hobby Lobby for $1.99) to secure it.

It’s always a good idea to have good light for tracing a design (and stitching too, for that matter).  When I first looked at the line drawing setup indoors, the printout didn’t come through as clearly as I’d hoped.  So I took everything outside, in the sunlight.   What a difference!

Another thing to keep in mind:  it’s (obviously) harder to see a design when tracing on 18m than a smaller mesh count (for example, 13m).  I  prefer to use 18m when I want to stitch in more detail.  Plus, I may frame this design:  13m count would require me to enlarge the design, which I don’t want to do.

There should be a 3″ margin of blank canvas surrounding the design.   I’m going to cut a piece of canvas that is 11″ x 11″, then put needlepoint tape around the edge of the canvas.   I could use ordinary masking tape for a DIY project like this, but I really don’t recommend it, as masking tape can stain canvas, and it also dries out.  (If you cannot find needlepoint tape, you can also use artist drafting tape.)

How long did this step take?

About 5 minutes.  (But it tales MUCH longer to write about and takes pictures of and make it all nice and purrty! )

At any rate, with this latest How To segment now behind me, I ‘m now totally ready to cook a 5-course dinner for the 20 people who just showed up unannounced.  O, what will I prepare?

Signing off.  It’s obvious I’m getting punchy and need a break.  Stay tuned!

Next:  Tracing your Design – Drawing on the Canvas

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

