Crab Salad

Standard
Crab Salad

Crab Salad

Have you ever wondered what a pattern found in nature might look like on a needlepoint design?

Let’s try a little experiment.

Organic Pattern

Organic Pattern

Given that I live near the ocean, I decided to use the pattern of a seashell I found the other day on the beach.

I cropped an image of this shell, and pasted it as a tiled pattern on a clip-art crab illustration by Pamela Perry.  I also changed the colors of the illustration, turning the drawing into a crab with colorful blue claws and yellow legs.

Then I added an image of a piece of sea lettuce (from Wiki), and layered the whole thing on a background of 18 mesh canvas.

The end result is certainly a starting point.  You might then decide to add other details, like a starfish, or a scallop shell with a pearl inlay.

Who knows?

You could end up with a custom design that you might want Needlepoint Land or your local needlepoint shop to have painted!

Bottom line, if you’re handy with image editing software, you can easily try out organic patterns on needlepoint  designs.

After all, it’s only natural.

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

