A revision decision

Standard
Design by Pat Carsley

Design by Pat Carsley

Several months ago, I wrote a post about my experiment with a new (to me!) stitching technique.   This is Anne Stradal’s needleblending technique, which I used for the sky of a conch house canvas, designed by Pat Carsley (of Needle Crossings fame).

Unfortunately, I later noticed that I had mistakenly pulled in a lighter shade of one of the blues.   The result was that it looked more tweeded than blended.   I also had made a little too dramatic a contrast between the various shades of blue.   Most of the time I am not a perfectionist, and do not split hairs or threads for that matter, but if something is just not right,  I change it.

When I emailed Anne about my adventures, she wrote back and mentioned other possibilities for needleblending:

‘There are actually only two blue “families” of DMC  that give you at least five values to work with successfully:  the #3756 to  334 range and the 3753 to 931 range.  If you wanted a green-blue for a  tropical-looking sky, you’d be hard-pressed to find a DMC family that has enough  values to transition smoothly.’

Anne writes a regular column for Needlepoint Now, and always has excellent stitching tips.

She was kind enough to share with me her recipe for a dawn sky, which I intend to try out.  If you would like a copy, write her, anne at absdesignsonline dot com.

… meanwhile, back at Needlepoint Land, stay tuned for my upcoming summer blockbuster, Erin’s Key West movie.  It’s meant to be light and breezy and fun to watch!

Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

4 responses »

  1. Thanks Whitney! I always am a sucker for a cat (or German Shepherd) on a canvas. I really enjoyed your blog! Loved the Van Gogh-style cats!

  2. Thanks Anne. That is high praise from a pro! Now plz check out the movie I made with this canvas. I’m putting it up right now. Hope you enjoy that too!

    best

    E.

Leave a Reply

