Cat on a Mat

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wish I could get to see Scarlett Johansson ‘s latest Broadway foray, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.

Tennessee Williams' Cat PosterI did catch her two years ago, as Catherine, in Arthur Miller’s “View From the Bridge.”  Total snoozefest.  She’s in previews with Cat now; the show officially opens on Jan 17.

I’m no theater critic, but I don’t think anyone, not Ashley Judd, not Jessica Lange, not Kathleen Turner, not even Florida’s own Elizabeth Ashley, could top Elizabeth Taylor in this role.  Liz only played Maggie in the movies, of course, but still.

Well, at least I have my needlepoint Cat on a Mat to console me, since it’s likely I’ll be missing Scarlett in this one.

Tennessee Williams Key West House

Photo by Dale McDonald

I took some snaps of Tennessee’s old conch house in Key West on Duncan St. a few years back.  Whoever bought it had it restored.  The photo on the left was taken in the late 60s, and shows its original state.  Before the tropical foliage spread out and the snazzy carport was added.

Despite all these changes, I still was able to imagine Tennessee on the front porch, drink in hand no doubt.  He died a horrible death in New York, but his good plays will probably be performed forever.

I guess it’s okay the place was fixed up.

Sometimes, I suppose even a house must depend on the kindness of strangers.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

2 responses »

  1. I love your site 🙂 The ornaments are beautiful and the belts are fantastic. The cat on the mat is beautiful 🙂 Wonderful as always !!!!

Leave a Reply

