Christmas 2012 Gallery

Standard

I have a confession to make:  I am a designer groupie, so to speak.  That is to say, I am one of those people who go through phases with a particular designer.  Painted Pony and Kathy Schenkel are among my perennial favorites, but I’ve also mooned over other designers, whose work I’ll show you later.

One of the ornaments in my Christmas 2012 Gallery is a memento to my favorite cat, Noëlle.  She was my Christmas present to me, in 1995, when I worked at the Animal Medical Center, in New York City.

Anyway, I’ve put two of my favorite ornaments together in this Gallery (see Image 2) — the cabins, and the bear in the woods. By the way, I added the bell embellishment and the blue moon button, after I stitched these pieces, which is something you might want to consider, if you want to jazz up your needlepoint with bling that you find here and there in your travels across Needlepoint Land.

Of course, I had to have a dog and some cats ornaments!  You might notice that the cat (Image 6, to the left of the Noel ornament) holding the tulips was stitched in wool and perle cotton. Over time, the ornaments I’ve stitched have included more and more sparkly metallics.  There are many great shiny threads available now–you can get matte shines or ultra high gloss threads.  Glimmery threads are so well-suited for holiday ornaments. Some ornaments I’ve stitched are completely done in metallics, as shown in the small, colorful owl in Image 16.

Do you like angel ornaments?  They’re a lot of fun to stitch, and you can go wild with the patterns you decide to use.

The first Painted Pony angel I ever saw (the one on the right, in Image 15) was the New York City angel, which I came across at  Annie & Company in New York. I am not an especially big angel person, but I like these a lot, especially the various scenes painted in those flowing thingies they’re wearing, not to mention, of course, their fabulous charms.

Well, those are some of the highlights I thought I would point out in this Gallery.  Check back later for more Christmas goodies and present ideas.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

Leave a Reply

