Happy Hauntings!!!

Standard

It is a dark and stormy night here in south Florida, where meteorologists have dubbed this latest tropical storm, “Frankenstorm.” Anyway, Halloween has always been a favorite of mine and so in the spirit of this holiday season, here are some spooktacular needlepoints that I’ve stitched.

This is a little Halloween ornament with two ghosts, three Jack O’Lanterns and two black cats.  Pardon the cheesy backdrop, but, due to the freakish storm, outside photography was too harrowing to even contemplate. The cats were done in Petite Very Velvet. While it is fiendishly hard to see, most of the ornament is tricked up in metallic threads, which always makes things a little more fun.  The finisher put a little bat embellishment on the top, and a creepy spider is attached to the long hanger.

The backing material — I just love it when finishers go batty with my projects.

Sometimes I just let a finisher have carte blanche when putting together a needlepoint job.  All the decisions in finishing this ghoulish trick or treater were left solely in my finisher’s hands.  I really liked how Casper here was devilishly placed on a custom-crafted stand, with two little gold  balls to create a floating, ghostly effect.

Aren’t the backing and twist just perfect?

And finally… there’s this little witch in a big hat. Her smiling little face isn’t scary one bit, but that wand looks like it could be trouble!

That’s it!  I hope you enjoyed this little gallery of ghoulish delights.  Well…  off I go to do some more stitching.   Meanwhile, I’m keeping my needles crossed that the Evil Storm won’t ruin this Halloween.  As my grandmother used to tell me, on stormy nights like this one, life sometimes can seem to be nothing but one big cone of uncertainty.  Okay, bad joke.  Tooddle-do!

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

