Pagoda under a serious moon

Standard

I recently stitched this pagoda canvas.  A good friend of mine adapted the design from an Elizabeth Bradley kit.

A. Colt

Here’s a close-up of the stitches I used. Nothing fancy here, except the Oriental stitch on the eaves, and the T-stitch on the pagoda walls. Notice the bright green gecko (lizard) on the roof and an alligator in the pond. These creatures are common sights in South Florida, where I live.  And let’s not ignore the Man in the Moon-that’s some sharp chin!

A. Colt

I always say finishers add all the nifty embellishments that really make a project unique. My finisher for this piece found a bead that picked up the colors in the water.  Nice touch.

And when the finisher sent it back, she also included a fantastic embellishment for a New York Christmas taxi ornament that I am working on. The wheels even turn!

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

One response »

Leave a Reply

