My Beauties

Standard

What an adventure.  First, I tried to take pictures of these pieces against a whiteboard.  Not a good idea.  The flash was so blinding I had to buy more sunglasses for indoor use.

Then I went to Wal-Mart, and bought a dark blue twin sheet.  That seemed to be a good idea, until I put it on the floor, the one with the dog and cat hair.  Plus which, it was almost impossible to get the sheet flat, even when over the whiteboard.  Despite this, I took some pictures, then forgot I had a whiteboard under the sheet and stepped on the sheet.  Not a good idea, as I heard this stomach-turning crunching sound.  This all took place in the living room.

By this time, my studio was ready.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t.  The problem was that if you put the blue sheet over the dresser in the studio, you got to see either part of a wall, or carpet.  Big problem.  So I decided to climb on top of the dresser, and take picture looking down astride the canvas like some needlepoint colossus of ineptness.  Bad idea.  I almost fell, and had a hard time getting off the dresser without breaking my neck.

Finally, I decided to use a marble table top, and that seemed to work, although I had to use the sheet as background in the Goose pic, and the sheet was, by now, badly creased.  All in all, it was a lot of fun, and I hope you enjoyed looking at these finished models as much I did photographing them.

You can find them under the Finished Models drop-down menu in the Needlepointeria gallery.

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

