Save Me the Waltz

Standard

Erin's Vintage Collection

It’s time to start focusing on the looming gallery situation.

My “studio” is ready.  It’s actually the spare bedroom, which is a bit of mess, to put it mildly.  I plan to organize my stash and finished canvases there, and  most importantly, take pictures of them.  I don’t have a tripod or a professional camera, so this ought to be rich.  Now this is not going to happen overnight, as I actually also have a storage space I rent that also has needlepoint canvases and finished pieces in it.  So I’m going to pick, and choose, over time, what to put in my galleries.

The flapper canvas in this post is actually something I bought.  I like to rescue old needlepoint canvases.  I don’t know the name of the artist who created it, nor the person who stitched it, but it’s an old Gemini kit.  I like old-fashioned canvases, so I’ll just throw this in my Vintage Collection, along with the I’d Rather be Stitching one in the previous post.  Whoever stitched the Flapper piece did a beautiful job, especially on her turkey work stole.

Like most stitchers, I have tons of stuff laying about.  Some of my stash is hanging in a closet, and some are in plastic storage bins.  I am going to try to come up with some sort of ordering scheme for all this stuff, and it’s going to take time.

I also have quite a few finished pieces.  I generally have these wrapped up in cloth.  Old pillowcases, small towels, or even acid free paper come in handy, just to keep the dust off them, unless they’re behind glass in my display armoire, or framed and hanging on the wall.

Anyway, this is what to expect around here for the next few weeks, less daily posts for now, and more needlepoint pics going up, so if you’re interested in taking a look at some of my stuff, drop in from time to time.

So a heads up to you, dear visitors:  I’m adopting a two-times-a-week posting schedule, most likely Saturday and either Tuesday or Wednesday, and ditching this daily posting business, which is, quite frankly, a major grind.

Life is short.  There’s tennis to play, and stitching to do!

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

