Hello stitchers!

Standard

Welcome to Needlepoint Land.

This blog is about the craft of needlepoint stitching, thread selection, and canvas finishing. If these subjects interest you, this is the place to be.

So let’s get started.

The first thing I will say, before anything else, is that here are no rules in needlepoint. There is no needlepoint police. Yes, there are basic stitching techniques you might want to learn. Most of these are quite straightforward, although some will take a little patience to master.

Frog King

Canvas by TS Designs

Naturally, choosing a particular canvas is always a matter of personal taste. As is how you are going to stitch or finish it.  You might even end up with a regal frog holding a dragonfly.

But the secret to successful needlepointing is that you enjoy yourself. It truly is that simple.

I like to keep in mind what my grandmother used to say:  no matter how you stitch it, a canvas will always turn out beautifully in the end.

I will tell you another secret.

Beyond the stitching techniques, the thread selection process, the finishing, there is one thing I have learned over the years, which is quite hard to describe, that I think makes for a well turned out needlepoint project.

Many people call it the Art of Needlepointing, but it is much more than that.

In my opinion, everything you do during the course of a needlepoint project, ought not only come from knowing what works best, but also out of an inner passion for the craft.

This is how I plan to talk about needlepoint in this blog.  I certainly hope you will find it useful, and enjoyable to read.

Look for my next entry, where I’ll cover the simplest, most important needlepoint stitch you need to know.

Till then, happy stitching!

© Erin McGrath and Needlepointland.com, 2012 – 2016.

About Erin

Owner of Needlepoint Land, LLC. Professional in the field for more than 15 years, during which I have managed and/or worked with various high-end needlepoint shops. I enjoy teaching both beginners and advanced stitchers, and have created numerous stitch guides, with speciality thread selections, for in-store customers and private clients. I maintain contact with an extensive network of needlepoint vendors, custom artists, and, most importantly, reliable, high-quality finishers. I look forward to hearing your comments on my blog!

2 responses »

  1. This is a beautiful site and it shows a lot of hard work was put into it. I’m very impressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

